The Baltimore Office of Promotion & The Arts announces the finalists for the $25,000 Janet & Walter Sondheim Artscape Prize:

Miguel Braceli
Hoesy Corona
Phylicia Ghee
Muriel Hasbun
LaToya M. Hobbs
(Mollye Bendell, Jeffrey Gangwisch
& Christopher Kojzar)

See the artist bios here:

Created by the Baltimore Office of Promotion & The Arts, the competition awards a $25,000 fellowship to assist in furthering the career of a visual artist or visual artist collaborators living and working in the Baltimore-Washington metropolitan area.

Each remaining finalist is presented with the M&T Bank Finalist Award of $2,500. Semifinalists are awarded a $500 honorarium, also partially financed by a gift from M&T Bank this year.

The 2020 Jurors are Gary Carrion-Murayari, Nona Faustine, and Diya Vij.

Finalists’ Exhibition & Award Ceremony

Due to the COVID-19 crisis, the Sondheim Artscape Prize will move forward with a virtual finalists’ exhibition.

The virtual exhibition will be available on Kunstmatrix, an online platform that allows for publicly viewable digital galleries that simulate the setup of three-dimensional galleries.

The finalists’ exhibition will launch on Monday, July 6, 2020 and continue through Monday, August 31, 2020. It will be available at

The award ceremony, previously announced to be held at the Walters Art Museum, will now occur virtually on BOPA’s YouTube page. This special evening, full of excitement, is always a highlight for the arts community in Baltimore every summer. Join BOPA, the jurors, and the six finalists for the big reveal of the $25,000 prize winner on Saturday, July 25, 2020 at 7:00 PM.

The previously announced Creative Artist Residency at Civitella Ranieri in Italy has been postponed.

Thank You to Our Sponsors

BOPA thanks presenting sponsor M&T Bank for the $2,500 M&T Bank Finalist Awards, presented to each Sondheim Artscape Prize finalist.

The 2020 Janet & Walter Sondheim Artscape Prize is made possible through the generous annual support of presenting sponsor M&T Bank. Additional funds come from an endowment established with the support of the Abell Foundation, Baltimore Community Foundation, Amy and Chuck Newhall, Brown Advisory, Caplan Family Foundation, Charlesmead Foundation, Ellen Sondheim Dankert, France-Merrick Foundation, Greater Baltimore Committee, Hecht-Levi Foundation, Legg Mason, Rollins-Luetkemeyer Foundation, Henry & Ruth Blaustein Rosenberg Foundation, Rosemore, Inc., Rouse Company Foundation, Sigmund & Barbara Shapiro Philanthropic Fund, John Sondheim, William G. Baker, Jr. Memorial Fund, Whiting-Turner Contracting Company, and Patricia and Mark Joseph/The Shelter Foundation. BOPA would additionally like to thank the more than 40 individuals who contributed to the Sondheim Prize Endowment Fund in 2017 in honor of former BOPA CEO Bill Gilmore. 

Comments are closed.

Post Navigation